Downton Abbey Stuffed Mushrooms

 photo 7556d-stuffedmushroomspoundcake002.jpg

I DVR’d the first two episodes of Downton Abbey.   So, while I know what’s going to happen – I can’t help myself, I read the episode summaries during the UK airing – I’m looking forward to a viewing this weekend.  So, as something to nosh upon, I’m making these delectable little bites, billed as The Crawley Sisters’ Stuffed Mushrooms, from The Unofficial Downton Abbey Cookbook.  I’ve made them before, and not only are they quite delicious, but also easy!  With a filling of cream cheese, green onions, and garlic, they are wonderfully gooey and flavorful, the only thing that would make them even better would be the addition of lump crab.

Recipe selections begin with Hors d’Oeuvres and conclude with Tea, and while most of the recipes are intended for those who live above stairs, there are a number of below stairs recipes, too.  In fact, the second recipe I made was Treacle Tart; the dessert was considered to be a lower-class dessert, but the husband and I thought it was just brilliant…

I’ve not decided what to make next, but I have my eye on one of the delicious soups or perhaps the Bakewell Tart.

The Crawley Sisters’ Stuffed Mushrooms
12 whole fresh mushrooms
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1/4 cup sliced green onions
1 1/2 tablespoons minced garlic
Dash of Worcestershire sauce
8 oz cream cheese, softened 
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, grated
1 teaspoon kosher salt*
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 teaspoon onion powder
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/2 cup Italian seasoned bread crumbs (I used Rudi’s Gluten-Free Savory Herb Stuffing with a pinch of Italian seasoning)
Minced parsley for garnish, optional 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees; grease a baking sheet
Clean mushrooms, removing stems and chopping finely for stuffing
In a large skillet, heat butter and olive oil, then add green onions, chopped onions, garlic, chopped mushrooms and the dash of Worcestershire.Cook until all moisture has evaporated, but stir constantly so as not to burn the garlic.
Set aside and allow to cool to room temperature.
Once the mixture has cooled, add the softened cream cheese, Parmesan cheese, and remaining seasonings (do not add the bread crumbs).
Generously fill mushroom caps and sprinkle on bread crumbs using a small spoon.
Place on prepared baking pan and bake for 25 minutes.
Sprinkle on parsley, if using, and serve immediately.

Notes
*Before I added the salt, I tasted the filling and realized that the Worcestershire sauce and Parmesan cheese added enough salt for my taste, so I omitted the salt altogether.  Be sure to taste the filling prior to stuffing the mushrooms and adjust the seasonings per your taste. 

Print

Linked to the following:
Miz Helen’s Country Cottage

The Wednesday Roundup
Wake Up Wednesdays
Photobucket

 

4 thoughts on “Downton Abbey Stuffed Mushrooms

  1. Hi Louanne,
    It is so good to see you here today! I am big Abbey Fan and this recipe looks wonderful. I love the combination of all the wonderful ingredients and if it came out of your kitchen I know it will be awesome! Thank you so much for helping us celebrate Three Years at Full Plate Thursday. Have a great week and come back soon!
    Miz Helen

I love comments - leave one for me!

